Florida – Apollo Beach

South of the Tampa area is Apollo Beach.  (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apollo_Beach,_Florida)

Apollo Beach lies along Tampa Bay.  (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tampa_Bay)

I headed over to Apollo Beach to see the Manatees.  (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manatee)  Tampa Electric’s Manatee Viewing area by the Big Bend Power Station is an excellent place to see them.  (http://www.tampaelectric.com/company/mvc/)

I walked down a long narrow walkway, through some trees and then along a long stretch with water on both sides.

ManateesJan2014 (6)

People lined the sides, hoping to see a Manatee.

ManateesJan2014 (121)

I had never seen a Manatee, so I had no idea what I was looking for.  The people standing next to me said to look for places where the water looks different.  That lets us know that a Manatee is underneath.  (See picture below, in the center of the water.)

ManateesJan2014 (113)

I mostly saw gorgeous birds.

ManateesJan2014 (51)

ManateesJan2014 (62)

Every once in a while, the top of a Manatee could  be seen on the water (for a moment).  Manatees are fast and hard to photograph.  I was happy to catch some body parts that came out of the water.  (I think these were part of Manatees).

ManateesJan2014FIN

ManateesJan2014 (138)

I don’t know if I actually saw any Manatees, but it was a great way to spend a day in nature…

ManateesJan2014 (142)


             Eileen Newman, Photographer and Documentary Filmmaker           eileen14800@gmail.com                      503-451-0385

Photographs and blog content – copyright 2011-2014  Eileen Newman

Leave a Reply

