Alabama – Selma

I drove through Selma on my way across country.  It was a little out of  the way, but I am such a big supporter of Civil Rights that I had to come to this town.  (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Selma,_Alabama)

I drove in and asked someone where I could find the Edmund Pettus Bridge  (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edmund_Pettus_Bridge).

I came to take pictures and leave, but the man who gave me directions told me that I needed to walk it.  I have a fear of heights, so I hesitated.  But I eventually agreed.

DSCN7298

As I approached the bridge, my knees were shaking…  I started singing “We Shall Overcome” and stared up at the “Edmund Pettus Bridge ” sign.  I walked confidently.

Selma2

Selma4

After I passed the sign, I started shaking again.  Oh my, I was in the middle of the bridge and there was nothing to stare at.

I saw a man walking the same direction I was, but on the other side of the bridge.  I told him that I was afraid of heights.  He crossed the bridge and walked with  me.  He didn’t know the history of the bridge so I filled him in.  (It’s so much easier to cross the bridge while engaged in conversation.  Takes my mind off of where I am.)

At the other side was a small park memorial.  I showed him that, too.  I told him I would now need to find someone else to walk me back.  He said he would be happy to do that.  We chatted the entire way.  I did not feel scared.

I am so glad I walked the bridge!


             Eileen Newman, Photographer and Documentary Filmmaker           eileen14800@gmail.com                      503-451-0385

Photographs and blog content – copyright 2011-2014  Eileen Newman

Leave a Reply

